The Republican Accountability Project

The Republican Accountability Project has publicized a “GOP Democracy Report Card”, which grades Republican members of Congress from “A / excellent” to “F / very poor” about whether they have acted to undermine or uphold democratic values and whether they played any role to overturn the 2020 election. The Republican Accountability Project is part of the Defending Democracy Together group founded by Trump critic Bill Kristol and Sarah Longwell, a conservative and Republican consultant.

The Republican Accountability Project includes former Trump associate Olivia Troye and former Deputy Chief of Staff of the Department of Homeland Security Elizabeth Neumann. Olivia Troye is an American national security advisor who served as a homeland security official at the National Counterterrorism Center, the Office of Intelligence and Counterintelligence, and the DHS Office of Intelligence and Analysis.

Only 14 Republicans in Congress received an “A,” the highest possible grade. In contrast, more than 100 Republicans received an “F,” the lowest possible grade. These grades were determined by evaluating members of Congress based on four criteria:

– Did he or she sign on to the amicus brief filed along with Texas’ lawsuit to the Supreme Court that sought to nullify votes cast in Michigan, Wisconsin, Pennsylvania and Georgia?

– Did he or she object to the certification of Electoral College votes from at least one state?

– Did he or she make public statements that cast doubt on the legitimacy of the 2020 election?

– Did he or she vote to hold Trump accountable via impeachment or conviction?

It is their view that any of these criteria damages democracy. Senators and Congresspeople who damaged congress in all 4 ways, such as Lauren Boebert and Matt Gaetz, were given “F” grade. Senator Joni Ernst did not sign the Texas lawsuit which sought to invalidate other states’ votes, nor voted against certification, however she voted against impeachment of Donald Trump and made public statements of support of Donald Trump’s public declaration that the 2020 Election result was invalid, so She received a “C-” grade. Senator Lindsey Graham did the same thing as Senator Ernst, but his public support of Donald Trump was quite open, so he received a “D” grade. Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler received an “A” because she was public with her witness during the Impeachment Trial of Donald J. Trump and did not vote to take away the certifications of any state.

The GOP Democracy spreadsheet grades Congresspeople for each criteria, name, state, and grade. When you click on the name, it links to a page that explains the grade that was given. This website is transparent in the methods used to explain the grades given.

Palmer Report articles are all 100% free to read, with no forced subscriptions and nothing hidden behind paywalls. If you value our content, you're welcome to pay for it:
Pay $5 to Palmer Report:
Pay $25 to Palmer Report:
Pay $75 to Palmer Report:

Sign up for the Palmer Report Mailing List.
Write for the Palmer Report Community Section.