Syria gas attack and Donald Trump’s military response don’t add up – unless Putin orchestrated it

I detest empty conspiracy theories. If the most straightforward logical explanation for something is well supported by the facts, then it’s probably true most of the time. But here’s the trouble with the events of the past forty-eight hours: none of it makes sense on its face. Not the gas attack in Syria. And certainly not Donald Trump’s response. I hate to say it, but these events only logically make sense if they’ve all been arranged by Vladimir Putin.

Let’s start with the gas attack in Syria. In my view, the rebels lack the motivation and the organization to have been behind it. And ISIS was so weakened during the Obama administration that it now lacks the muscle to have pulled this off (and ISIS would be loudly taking credit if it did). And yet Syrian President Bashar al-Assad, genocidal as he may be, would not have done something like this without the approval of the Kremlin, because he is a longtime Russian puppet in both an economic and military sense.

Impeach Trump Now

But Vladimir Putin knows full well that a gas attack like this was likely to prompt at least some kind U.S. military response against Assad. So Putin wouldn’t have been behind this unless he wanted the U.S. to take military action in Syria. And the only logical reason for Putin to want that is if he was trying to set up a win for Donald Trump, which could boost his historically low approval rating. It would also allow Trump to paint himself as being willing to go against Russian interests, as an argument against the most serious charges in the worsening Trump-Russia scandal.

Moreover, the U.S. Tomahawk missiles used in the attack could have been struck down by the S-400 weaponry which Russia already had in place in Syria (source: Washington Post) – but Russia chose not to do so. Additionally, NBC News is reporting on-air that the U.S. strike only took out planes and fueling stations, while leaving the two airstrips intact. The airstrips would have required significant reconstruction, but the equipment can theoretically be replaced tomorrow.

The U.S. attack seemed tailor made to look fierce to casual viewers at home, while inflicting as little real damage to Assad’s air force capability as possible. Trump went out of his way not to substantially impair Assad, and in return Russia went out of its way to allow the U.S. attack to happen. For that matter, Russia seemed to have already known what the U.S. would hit when it made the decision not to take out the incoming missiles. Regardless of any public jawing between the U.S. and Russia tonight, this reeks of carefully crafted military theater.

Combine that with the reports this week from Rachel Maddow on her MSNBC show that the U.S. military had already been building up troops in Syria before the gas attack, and it strongly suggests Donald Trump knew he would soon be taking military action there. Further, Trump tried to keep the troop buildup a secret, suggesting he didn’t want anyone to figure out that he already knew the gas attack was coming.

Trump is a Russian spy

This is a hell of an accusation to make on my part. I’m suggesting that Vladimir Putin orchestrated a gas attack in Syria so Donald Trump could strike back in minimal and symbolic fashion, and that Putin told Trump ahead of time to go ahead and begin building up troops in advance, and that Trump went along with the horrifying stunt. And yet this is – incredibly – the least convoluted explanation that makes any logical sense.

Whatever the real story behind the surreal events of the past forty-eight hours, which has cost the lives of Syrian children and has put U.S. troops in harm’s way, Donald Trump’s role in it must be investigated to the fullest. Because if my logical theory is even half right, then Trump just became a genocidal war criminal. Contribute to Palmer Report


All of Palmer Report's content is made available to you for free, with no subscription fees or paywalls. If you're a regular reader, feel free to contribute:

Bill Palmer is the founder and editor in chief of the political news outlet Palmer Report




Keep up to date with the latest Palmer Report articles via email.
Get the latest content first.
We respect your privacy.

81 Comments

  1. Katrina Cordeiro on April 6, 2017 at 6:29 pm

    Makes sense, especially when you add in that Rex Tillerson made a point to say publicly just a few days ago that the US is backing off. The whole thing seemed very tidy, as MSNBC commentators noted tonight.

  2. Sue Croasmun on April 6, 2017 at 6:46 pm

    TRUMP does not appear to be panicked and he sure doesn’t sound sincere. It’s all about Trump, with his new “bigly” distraction. He and Putin have arranged this attack.The sequence is not happening in the right order. When 9/11 happened Bushy did not come on and make an announcement, we were seeing the attacks happening on national TV first.

  3. Maureen on April 6, 2017 at 7:24 pm

    Love your reporting & unfortunately for us you are more often right than wrong. You’ve scared the hell out of me but thank you for saying what needs to be said.

  4. Deanna on April 6, 2017 at 7:26 pm

    Trump is indeed a genocidal war criminal. How much more proof do Americans need to impeach this traitor and Russian spy? Enough already people, get mad and get even with him.

  5. Judy Monroe on April 6, 2017 at 7:30 pm

    Wow, this is real scarry. Especially because it makes sense as sad as that is to say. Another distraction also. If our intelligence does not get enough info on trashytrump-Russia soon, it will be too late. Time is of the essence. trasytrump and putin are so evil, I don’t think we could even imagine the type of things they may be capable of carrying out.

  6. Lori on April 6, 2017 at 7:38 pm

    I just got on Facebook to post this exact idea. This is crazy. My thinking though had me believing that ‘Russia-Gate” is coming to a head. Putin orchestrated this to do exactly what Trump always does: change the subject; get the heat off his American puppet.
    Glad to know that I have not turned into a ‘conspiracy theorist’. Well, I am not alone!✌️

  7. Gloria Lalumia on April 6, 2017 at 7:57 pm

    I came to the same conclusion basically and as the attack was going on, put up a post to that effect!

    A sudden “change” of heart…my cynic’s radar went off right away, considering we have just killed 200 people in Mosul and 9 children in Yemen during that botched raid…decision for that taken when Trump was…at DINNER.

    Not to mention his request to lift the policy regarding the avoidance of civilian casualties, the uptick in drone strikes, etc. etc.

    This guy is hell bent on war….in the meantime, this bomb throwing event (complete with the VIDEO) is a lot of PR, aided and abetted by Russia.

    • Wayne on April 9, 2017 at 12:41 am

      At dinner with the Chinese president. No better way to keep tensions at bay than to look a likely spoiler in the face saying “don’t worry,”

  8. BT on April 6, 2017 at 8:06 pm

    And I will add to your prediction. Trump will have his “easy win”, with Putin quickly swooping in and negotiating some kind of “peace agreement” with Assad and Trump, and then Trump will say, “See Americans, I win wars, and my theory that we must work together with Russia was a brilliant one. And I alone, with my good friend Putin, can bring peace to the Middle East.” God, if this is true, I hope the FBI/CIA got it on tape.

  9. Gary on April 6, 2017 at 9:17 pm

    Good theory but I would be surprised if Trump would go against the interests of Israel by actually invading to really take out ISIS.

    • Russell Dee on April 9, 2017 at 3:49 pm

      Gary, Putin has something on Trump. Trump’s number 1 boss is Putin. Trump will go against Israel if that’s what Putin wants.

    • nana on April 17, 2017 at 5:01 am

      why would israel want to take out ISIS? Its his own creation

  10. Bob Cormier on April 6, 2017 at 9:28 pm

    No, the one explanation that makes more sense than your explanation is that Assad is a genocidal war criminal who has been slaughtering his own people — mostly civilians — by the tens of thousands for the past several years, and he decided to test whether the new American president would become outraged enough by a new atrocity to take unilateral military action or whether he (Assad) would be given tacit license to continue doing whatever he wants, with Russia’s help. If anything, Trump’s recent statement that he didn’t want to be president of the whole world, as well as Tillerson’s statement that the U.S. no longer thinks Assad should go and that the Syrian people should determine who their leader is, gave Assad all the tacit license he needed to use chemical weapons again.

    • Russell Dee on April 9, 2017 at 3:46 pm

      Nope Bob Cormier, the theory that makes the most sense is Plamer’s theory. I had the same theory as Palmer before I saw Palmer’s story. I had never been to Palmer’s site before but I thought of the same thing Palmer is saying. This whole thing, from the Aassad chemical attack, to Trump’s military response, to the present state of stress between Russia and America all looks staged to make it look like Trump will stand up to Putin. And I think Putin is willing to take the situation all the way to some degree of war to try to convince the world that the fake fight between Russia and Team Trump is real.

  11. Maureen Jungbluth on April 6, 2017 at 9:48 pm

    I thought thie very same thing before I saw your report!! I’m glad I’m not the only one

  12. Debbie on April 6, 2017 at 9:52 pm

    soooo cynical, hope it’s not true 🙁 but makes perfect sense

    • Carolyn on April 11, 2017 at 8:14 pm

      I feel like there is one more piece. Sweden. After making a fool of himself with the fake attack fiasco, could this attack have been orchestrated to prove that Trump is always right?

  13. Diane Conroy on April 6, 2017 at 10:02 pm

    This means……Donald Trump knew about the genocide planned and did nothing to stop it.

  14. Jynxie Wavemaiden Copeland on April 6, 2017 at 10:30 pm

    I literally drew the same conclusion an how before reading this article. I finished explaining it to my husband before I found this article. Thank you for posting it. Now I feel less crazy for thinking it.

  15. N.J on April 6, 2017 at 10:33 pm

    It make sense to me. I think you are right on point, Putin wants Trump in Siria, that’s the best way, it can be justified at least right now, eventually Trump will flip on Rusia’s side, when the troops settle in Siria.

    • Russell Dee on April 9, 2017 at 4:26 pm

      N.J. it’s not the Putin wants Trump in Syria.

      What Putin wants is to discredit the perception that Trump is Putin’s puppet.

      N.J. Are you aware that there are investigations into Trump’s involvement and coziness with the Russians? Are you aware that a lot of people think that Trump is Putin’s puppet? If you aren’t then I don’t what planet you’ve been on the past year, and if you are aware of this stuff then you should realize that if Trump is Putin’s puppet then Putin needs to get the cloud of suspicion off of Trump because Trump can’t help Putin while everybody’s suspicious. People are watching all of the interaction between Trump and Russia and in that climate Trump can’t give Putin the things he wants or Trump could get caught.

      Hence, Putin came up with this staged chemical attack scenario AND the Trump missile attack against Syria scenario to make it seem like Trump is not Putin’s puppet. You see, Aassad (in Syria) is Putin’s ally so when Trump attacked Syria that created the false perception that Trump will do things Putin wouldn’t want him to do.

      Do you understand?

  16. Laurie Hunchar on April 6, 2017 at 11:07 pm

    Excellent post. Shared your post with my husband, he wholeheartedly agreed. We’re on the same wavelength, like your summary of thoughts and expectations.

  17. Kathleen Greves on April 6, 2017 at 11:33 pm

    I totally believe this .. I had this figured out as soon as I read about it .. this is Putin’s show .. he is calling the shots.. it is a diversionary tactic to take the heat off the fact that the orange cheeto is Putin’s puppet . Didn’t the orange cheeto say to kill the babies and children of the terrorists? yes he did, his fake concern about the children makes me nauseated. I see his daughter is unfaithful as well .. wow Bunnion calls her husband a cuck ..

  18. deborah peirson on April 7, 2017 at 12:15 am

    Thank you for all your reports this all makes total sense in light of what has been taking place now just proving this is the hard part

  19. Thomas Eliason on April 7, 2017 at 1:04 am

    While I appreciate this kind of logical exercise, I do not agree that it strengthens Trump. I think people are done with Middle East wars and have become skeptical about our government’s justifications for them generally. I suspect there will be a strong pushback from the public on this deleterious action, like there was in 2013 when Obama tried to start a larger war with Syria.

    Quite frankly, I no longer believe a word our government says.

    • Russell Dee on April 9, 2017 at 4:33 pm

      Thomas Eliason, it strengthens Trump in two ways:

      1. Citizens rally around the president during times of conflict so Trump could get a poll boot from this.

      2. Trump is a Russian puppet. He wants to help Russia. But he can’t do it since we’re all suspicious and we’re all watching his interactions with Russia. So if he can convince us that he isn’t Russia’s puppet then we’ll pay less attention to his interactions with Russia. We’ll be less suspicious. And then he can give his bosses in the Kremlin what they want.

  20. Mike on April 7, 2017 at 2:35 am

    Your sound analysis in this column is precisely the deduction I drew immediately after hearing reports of Trump’s Tomahawk missiles attack. As a Vietnam Vet, I witnessed first-hand how LBJ concocted his,Kabuki theater in the Gulf of Tonkin (where we had clandestine operations underway in that coastal region for many months prior) to duplicitously attain strong Congressiional and widespread media support for a much deeper American military involvement.

    Thank goodness for the PALMER REPORT generating this healthy scepticism about the Trump administration’s actions in Syria in recent weeks. It’s unfathomable WHY this specific horrific attack on civilians has rhe MSM’s amnesiacs confecting outrage after a half-million Syrians have previously been sloughtered by all manner of horrific methods. For those who might not be aware, the NAPALM and AGENT ORANGE with which the USA killed thousands upon thousands of Vietnamese civilians constituted just as diabolical a form of chemical,warfare as these latest gas attacks in Syria, whoever has actually perpetrated them.

  21. Promise on April 7, 2017 at 5:13 am

    You expressed the thoughts and conclusions in my mind. And I usually scoff at and dismiss conspiracy theories. What strange times we’re living in.

  22. John Aceves on April 7, 2017 at 5:30 am

    You have captured my thoughts exactly. I believe the endgame here is the lifting of sanctions against Russia. I believe that we will soon uncover collusion between the WH and Russia during the 2016 elections and that this strike provides adequate cover for Trump. I recognize this is an unbelievable theory, but my gut tells me there is much, much more at play here.

  23. Danny Burns on April 7, 2017 at 5:30 am

    You’re not alone in this thinking. All of the signs point to yes this is all constructed by Putin and Trump and we are all totally fucked. Unbelievable history making here. whoa…

  24. Roy on April 7, 2017 at 5:55 am

    It seems equally plausible, given your speculation, that Putin’s hidden and more important agenda is to market Trump as ‘savior’ of Middle East crisis, in order to help the puppet lift sanctions against a seemingly cowered Russia.

  25. Dean on April 7, 2017 at 6:17 am

    Thanks for saying this! Ron Paul is saying something similar, and it does look hinky.

    • Angel on April 9, 2017 at 4:12 am

      When it looks like a duck and sounds like a duck! CHANCES ARE IS A F#>£ing DUCK!!!!

  26. Tom Termini on April 7, 2017 at 6:19 am

    According to the BBC, “…the Russian military was informed beforehand, the Pentagon said.”

  27. kevin leigh on April 7, 2017 at 7:11 am

    None of this surprises me.

  28. Vicki on April 7, 2017 at 7:21 am

    When I woke up this morning and saw the headlines, much of this not only surprised me but had me unsettled because of the “spontaneity” of America’s use of force. There is much I do not understand about what is going on in the world, but this just stinks to high heaven. Something seems very off to me on this whole sh*t show. I’m going to agree with you that it all has a very “orchestrated” feel.

  29. mANNY on April 7, 2017 at 7:24 am

    So let me get this straight the president now felt heartbreaking compassion for Syrian refugees that he himself refused to allow, to use the US as a refuge, because he considered them terrorists.
    Russia–Syria relations refer to the bilateral relationship between Russia and Syria. Russia has an embassy in Damascus and Syria has an embassy in Moscow. Russia enjoys a historically strong, stable, and friendly relationship with Syria, as it did until the Arab Spring with most of the Arab countries.
    It’s difficult for Russia to withdraw its support, because that would mean the collapse of all [foreign] policy. I don’t think Assad is crazy enough to so something to terminate the whole process. The only thing he could do is a chemical weapons operation, but that would be a huge damage to Russian credibility and I don’t think Russia would allow that.
    And in the mist of all the Russian election contaminations being investigated, a chemical bomb was timely used to kill innocent children; families conveniently as if to make the Assad look like he’s the culprit to undertake such a heinous crime, but go deeper. Who would benefit by perpetrating this scandalous atrocity?
    What’s in this for Russia? What are they actually getting out of the relationship with the Syrian government?
    Putin sees it as a point of principle. Part of it is he wants to be seen as remaining loyal to his allies, because if he pulls the rug out from under Assad, what does this mean for his relationship with Central Asian dictators? Because they have a choice whether to rely on Russia or China, They also believe their rhetoric that if the Syrian government falls, it will lead to an upsurge of jihadist violence in Russia. You’d need Assad to fall for that to happen.
    When we all know Russia would love to take control of Syria, come out smelling like a rose, relieve Trump’s association by supposedly bombing a ghost air base, and making this look like Trump stepping on Russian toes, the results will make Trump look like our hero and of course Putin slaps Trump’s hand, we’ll let it go this time!
    Conveniently communication with Putin didn’t seem to present a problem and no Russian or citizens were harmed in the ghost AFB. Attacks and now we can forgive Trump and stop accusing them of a Russian-Trump scandal for tampering in the U.S. election! Blame the other guy!
    Bam You has been Trumped Again!
    It was a deal with Putin who controls Assad to gas that village, to give Trump a reason to bomb Syria. He needs a distraction, and this sort of thing is guaranteed to improve his approval ratings which are in the pits. Trump murdered those babies for his own political gain.
    “The single biggest problem in communication is the illusion that it has taken place.”
    George Bernard Shaw
    It’s just another cover up!

  30. Dawn Bennington on April 7, 2017 at 7:24 am

    I have long suspected Trump would ultimately use military actions/war in an effort to deflect from the Russia collusion investigations (even prior to discovering the Palmer Report!) and I find your reporting the only logical conclusions. Over 30 years ago (turning 58 this month) I deduced that coincidences are neither a fact of life, and most likely occurrences resulting from a bigger picture not easily discerned at first glance. Not a conspiracy theorist and have had no interest in politics or government my entire life UNTIL TRUMP was nominated to run in the presidential election. During my 35 years as both a paralegal and realtor, while Trump was frequently in the news, television and books published, I somewhat followed his career and deducted early on he is a sociopath, along with many other disturbing personality traits. Keep up the excellent reporting. You and Louise Mensch seem to be the few that can uproot the truth and connect the dots…Resist and Impeach Trump.

  31. Gino Roussel (retired spook) on April 7, 2017 at 7:29 am

    I would have to agree that you’re almost “Bang on the Money”. The pivot man might be Mr. Tillerson.

  32. Val Bonnet on April 7, 2017 at 7:32 am

    Both of them make me sick. How can they turn their backs on such an atrocity?

  33. babyowl53 on April 7, 2017 at 8:07 am

    A win for trump? I think not. This simply shows how stupid, ignorant, and unfit as a president trump actually is.

  34. Jay pena on April 7, 2017 at 8:52 am

    This article is spot on. I thought the whole thing was bogus because the response is bogus. Throwing missles at a hole in the dessert? Why not bomb assad’s palace like reagan did to moamar? Bogus theatrics!

  35. Paul on April 7, 2017 at 9:25 am

    I woke to the same thought…plus add that the timing perfectly coordinated with the Chinese leader being here to show him the Drump means business in regards to North Korea.

  36. John Q. Public on April 7, 2017 at 9:32 am

    Yup. I agree. This reeks of military theater.

  37. G. BUD Budlong on April 7, 2017 at 9:47 am

    all this is arraigned by who finances all the players EXCEPT Syria…do your research and find the 4 nations the Intl. Central Bank sys is trying to gain economic control over…Cuba and Iran by removing sanctions…Syria and others by military action…both require massive loans by the nations to stimulate their economies.
    Nobody looks too closely at the FED and its mother bank in Geneva Switzerland cause to do so brings certain death..ask Abe, John, Robert and MLK why criticizing that power gets you killed

  38. Steven M Johnson on April 7, 2017 at 10:06 am

    I thought it sounded fishy when it was said that hitting the runway would have little to no impact and be easily fixed with a couple of bags of asphalt. A couple of bags? That is ridiculous. Fifty missiles were fired. We’re not talking fourth of July fireworks here. Also, if you hit an airport wouldn’t you want to make sure any aircraft that wasn’t disabled couldn’t take off to retaliate and see to it they can’t land either? C’mon! You destroy anything useful to the enemy.
    Assad has been killing Syrians all along so the gas attack is most likely his doing. Putin would have good reason to stand down to remain in Trumps good graces and denounce the US action to stay in line with Assad. If Trump knew that Putin was going to gas civilians then he is guilty of war crimes. Any explanation of American involvement is too little, too late. (This is not a conspiracy theory so much as chess moves.)

  39. Brian Harbut on April 7, 2017 at 10:52 am

    This is so Right on I hope people that can do something about this really look into this an don’t be fooled by this cover up.

  40. Brian Harbut on April 7, 2017 at 10:55 am

    Hope someone investigate this cover up cause I couldn’t put I pass these .

  41. Laurie Longo on April 7, 2017 at 11:15 am

    Several months ago, after the primaries, I mentioned to some lawyer friends at our Thursday lunch that I was worried about Trump’s Russian investments and afraid that Trump wanted to help Russia execute a coup. The easiest way seemed to be for him to somehow ostensibly “provoke” Russia in response to which Russia would “threaten” war on US soil, in reply to which Trump, as Commander in Chief, would simply capitulate in order to spare the bloodshed, with the US Constitution and US laws and government structures being eliminated in one fell swoop and coup or “annexation” accomplished. At that point, the idea was merely political rumination among friends. My friends were laughing because the Russian thing seems so far-fetched. Right now, it doesn’t feel so far-fetched. The whole Syrian thing, particularly the timing, feels like some kind of deliberate, calculated theater with an agenda none of us outside that tiny DC/Moscow inner circle wants to imagine.

  42. Joey Gonzalez on April 7, 2017 at 11:47 am

    PAY ATTENTION!
    “…the only logical reason for Putin to want that is if he was trying to set up a win for Donald Trump, which could boost his historically low approval rating.”

    Plummeting ratings? Create a horrific drama to get Americans riled up (as we tend to do…). Come in swinging your patriotic hammer and suddenly nobody’s paying attention to the things that got you those terrible ratings and you are the great American equalizer…

    SMOKE & MIRRORS FOLKS! Don’t let them do this again!!!

  43. Donna on April 7, 2017 at 12:44 pm

    This is quite interesting. I think this is very possible. Just how did this strike help even one Syrian, I’d like to know? Also, where on earth is the one missile that went missing? Last night they said no one knew where it went. I don’t believe for one second that Trump finally grew a heart. That’s just not his thing.

  44. Rose on April 7, 2017 at 1:52 pm

    For awhile now, my theory has been Putin, Tillerston and Trump have big plans to fill up Russia’s millions of acres of spare land (forget the numbers, 164 million acres?) with oil fields. But Trump being as dumb as he is will be dumped by Putin when he is done with him. Not sure about Tillerston, since he has the oil experience, Putin may keep him around for awhile…or not. After all, Putin wants to rule the world! I do think Putin’s in on everything that’s going on. His being mad about Trump’s airstrikes is all a show.

  45. dukiepie on April 7, 2017 at 1:55 pm

    So Dipshit gets to:

    Use the Syrian/Russian sarin gas attack on innocent civilians as a impetus for outrage and call for action. (while calling the Russians ahead of the attack so they could tell Assad) Keep in mind these people have been dying for years. Again Republicans blocked Obama from doing this in 2013. (Looks to me that this killing of babies was set up for the American clown in chief.

    To:

    Look like a strongman (so Kim Jung Un Can take note. and republicans can laud him as Reaganesque)

    Look like he gives a shit about Syrians (Although they’re unwelcome here)

    Look like he’s not Putin’s bitch. (While doing very little damage to the Russian built air field)

    Change the narrative on Trump’s collusion with Russia. (with Russia’s help)

    Russia condemns American overreach. While he knew about it ahead of time.

    He and right wing also get to further paint Iran (Rich with a nationalized oil reserves) as a vile enemy. That we must at some point attack.

    He also gets to float the narrative that he did what Obama didn’t (even though the congress blocked Obama from doing it lawfully in 2013)

    And he gets to pull his poll numbers out of the basement.

    This is a very good smokescreen with the help of the ever willing and clueless media.

  46. Laurence Hazlewood on April 7, 2017 at 3:12 pm

    I wrote this BEFORE I read your piece.

    Hypothetical Question – (Based on ACTUAL EVENTS AND FACTS)
    What would be your plan if, having successfully manipulated the citizens of another country to elect a manifestly unsuitable, untrustworthy, incompetent and provably criminal President, you found that his/her popularity and public acceptance was plummeting and Law Enforcement Services were closing in on the conspiracies and crimes he/she was part of, and you were in danger of losing your most valuable Agent in the (let’s say) Free World and you needed to do SOMETHING, ANYTHING to bolster his/her support, reinforce the power he/she wields (on your behalf) and get them out of danger?
    How’s this for an idea. You get ANOTHER Puppet Leader who is also under your control to mount a vicious and unwarranted attack on a civilian population centre, targeting children in particular using chemical weapons to kill them while they sleep so that they cannot escape, and create such uproar and world condemnation that your Main Asset can ride the wave of popular outrage and order a highly publicised missile strike on a deserted airfield taking out the wrecks and weed-strewn runways, proclaiming to the World his humanitarian credentials and strong moral leadership. thus gaining a massive boost in popularity and silencing the critics and whistle-blowers, at least for a while.
    You could then make a great show of denouncing the attack on your useless ally’s defunct airbase, and promise retribution if such a thing were to be repeated, and thereby kill two birds with one stone. You pour cold water on the evidence of collusion and conspiracy with Agent Orange and the obvious signs of your joint venture to subvert Western Democracies (eventually leading to invasion of the weakened West) and simultaneously raise the popularity of your Puppet thus enabling him to continue in his task of Destroying your main Opponent.
    Don’t you think that this would work for you, if you were, for argument’s sake, a blood-thirsty and vicious killer who had no compunction about blasting civilians into smithereens and who had already done so in half a dozen countries as well as ordering assassinations of your critics in every country on the planet including your OWN operatives and even their children? Is this hypothetical question REALLY just a hypothesis or rather the REALITY of what has just occurred?

    There are larger questions here than the criminality of Assad. Just consider for a moment the restrictions on personal freedoms and privacy and Right to Free Speech and Constitutional Law, and Freedom of Movement and Spying on Citizens and attacks on Freedom of the Press, imprisonment of investigative journalists or even assassination, all in the name of The War on Terrorism.

    Now ask How many terrorist groups have been shut down by the most powerful and technologically advanced nations on earth with the capacity to read a number plate from 22,236 miles up or monitor the communications of billions of citizens, Government Leaders, High Tech Innovators anywhere around the globe simultaneously, but who are helpless in the face of a few hundred thousand (motivated, manipulated, salaried?) individuals who are mostly hiding in plain sight. Satellite surveillance can backtrack movements to point of origin and yet the routes of the killers can never be found?

    Who benefits from this incompetence? Now, look for the Annual Profit & Loss Statements of the Global Arms and Military Supply Corporations, the Private Security Groups and Unofficial Military Companies and the people who invest in them and give them contracts and refuse funding for clean air or water or safe roads or education, health care and decent housing.

    The links and lines of connection spread through ALL our lives and WE are the ones paying the cost.

    These are not separate issues, they are links in a chain. A chain that reaches even beyond what is happening now. I used to think conspiracies were just excuses for cock-up theory events. A great theme for Hollywood but not borne out by events.

    Now I am more and more convinced that the coincidences are more than mere luck, good or bad.

  47. CharlieC on April 7, 2017 at 3:13 pm

    Time says the Trump administration notified Russia in advance of missile strikes on Syria Thursday night, giving time for both Russian and Syrian forces to avoid casualties. U.S. military planners took precautions to minimise risk to Russian or Syrian personnel located at the airfield. So the attack was just a meaningless stunt.

  48. Mark Smith on April 7, 2017 at 4:08 pm

    REALITY CHECK: in a nutshell it’s regime change, a false flag event, need for the US’s oil/gas pipeline construction across Syria and control of the country’s oil/gas resources. How? Demonize its leader, lie to the US public via MSM to manufacture consent for conflict. And hey presto, it’s regime change just like Iraq and Libya all over again! Beneficiaries: Wall Street, big oil and the military industrial complex. Surely, we can see what’s happening before our eyes? Or are we so brain-dead and too lazy to reboot our brains because we have eaten so much fast food and watched too government propaganda on the MSM? In a few months the neocons have ruined our relationship with Moscow and are starting another conflict in the Middle East. Trump is a useful idiot to the neocons and probably more dangerous than weapons of mass destruction… But will he make America great again?

  49. Marcus on April 7, 2017 at 6:01 pm

    CONSPIRACY THEORY

    Putin is in control of Trump
    Putin is in support of Al-Assad
    Putin is in danger of being exposed Globally for his involvement in the destruction of Democracy throughout the world
    Putin supplies Sarin gas to Assad
    Putin tells Assad to perform a limited chemical strike
    Putin tells Trump to perform a “proportional” response
    RESULT:
    1) Distraction from US probe into Russian meddling and undermining of Democratic Institutions
    2) Putin sells it to Trump as a way to boost his sagging poll numbers
    3) the US being the military adversary against Assad so Russia will have “clean hands” internationally
    4) Iran & ISIS will focus on the US and its allies in retaliation.
    5) the entire region will further deteriorate into chaos disrupting crude oil supplies
    6) Russian oil will once again be in high demand further enriching Putin and his Oligarchy

  50. Scott Forbes on April 7, 2017 at 6:53 pm

    I believe you are EXACTLY correct regarding this. what better way to redirect media from mounting allegations at home. It’s a classic redirection, like when we invaded Grenada. Sadly, Trump’s base will eat this stuff up and enjoy his “bump” in popularity as he looks more “Presidential” to them.

  51. David Carter on April 7, 2017 at 8:28 pm

    Trump just handed Syria to Isis on a Silver Platter.”Dumb Ass”!

  52. Cheryl on April 8, 2017 at 1:19 am

    I believe Chump, Putin and Assad planned it together…no wait! Putin and Assad planned it and told Chump what to do.

  53. Bonnie Little on April 8, 2017 at 5:01 am

    So interesting reading this. It’s pretty close to what I said to my husband after it happened, and I’m not a conspiracy theorist either. It’s a crazy world we live in these days. I just hope we survive long enough to see it return to sanity.

  54. Saxon on April 8, 2017 at 7:27 am

    I said this 2 days ago on my Facebook page. It HAD to have been orchestrated, without a doubt. Putin gave Trump cover using monstrous means. Trump pales in comparison to Putin – forget US politics – he’s the one we need to address.

  55. Elizabeth Miranda on April 8, 2017 at 12:13 pm

    Have been thinking the same thing about the Syria bombing – another theatrical performance for ratings, but taking it up a few notches – to say the least, this time costing innocent lives. Let’s not forget Putin himself is having image issues in his own country and maybe he thinks an altercation with the US will help his ratings as well. And coincidentally, all this is done during the 24 hours China President Xi Jinping is at Mar A Lago. (So Trump can show off his tough guy act). All too staged! And Tillerson conveniently on course to go to Russia so he can appear to smooth things over with Putin and make it look like Trump and Putin made a deal for peace. Just wait – there will be no US escalation in Syria, only applause from the right and boos from the left. We need to push for investigations and crimes cannot go unpunished.

  56. Michael Fair on April 8, 2017 at 4:16 pm

    Additionally, how did Trump know about a Sweden attack 30 day before it happened, and confused the dates?.

  57. Kathy Hudson on April 8, 2017 at 5:22 pm

    If #45 really had compassion…like he tried to show..he would stop the ban on innocent people….and babies ..and let them across our borders..it is just lip service and lies

  58. joel schiavone on April 8, 2017 at 7:23 pm

    As amateurish as this administration is, all of the above seems more than plausible.

    • Russell Dee on April 8, 2017 at 10:51 pm

      Putin would have done the thinking and remember he’s KGB. Trump and Aassad would have just had to follow simple instructions.

  59. Russell Dee on April 8, 2017 at 10:36 pm

    The Russians didn’t even activate their missile defense systems. Trump’s missiles flew right through the path of the Russian’s defense systems. The Syrians moved their best equipment out of the path of Trump’s missles and left behind some planes in disrepair to take the hit from Trump’s missiles. Trump did not wreck the runway at the Syrian airport and that same runway was used for attacks today. I don’t really think it makes sense that Aassad would use sarin gas at this time. Keep in mind that Aassad and Russia both informed the world and America that Aassad had given up his chemical weapons. So would he disclose NOW that he really still had those chemical weapons for a small attack? I could see it if Aassad used his chemical weapons for some decisive attack but the attack Aassad used the chemical weapon for was small and meaningless, other than that it gave Trump a logical reason to act.

  60. Richard H on April 9, 2017 at 10:44 am

    While I agree this the gist of this analysis, I think it’s a little too complicated.
    This is really just Putin telling Assad to do one gas attack, Assad will do what he is told because he owes Putin for saving him at the 11th hour.
    There is no need for Putin to tell Trump anything about the gas attack ahead of time – he knows what the Americans will do.
    The Americans will now pump $50 million into Raytheon (good for stock price, which apparently Trump owns)
    Putin will now sell Assad more aircraft (good for Russia’s economy)
    etc etc

  61. Howard B Kaslow on April 9, 2017 at 11:27 am

    And remember that Bannon was removed from the National Security Council. Bannon is a far right winger who would have been opposed to any military action in another country. And he was removed BEFORE the chemical attack in Syria. Odd timing.

    • Ron Richins on April 12, 2017 at 7:39 pm

      I think it was the day after. I may be wrong, Tuesday sarin, Wednesday Bannon demotion, Thursday useless 100M PR stunt to impress Xi.

    • Ron Richins on April 12, 2017 at 8:23 pm

      3/30 Thursday Tillerson indicates that the Syrian people will decide (no regime change)
      3/31 Friday Kushner out of pocket from sundown (sabbath)
      4/1 Saturday Kushner out of pocket until sundown (sabbath)
      4/2 Sunday Kushner planning meetings for up coming Xi event
      4/3 Monday Kushner appears in the Middle East for an apparent photo op (with Trump’s personal body guard in tow)

      Questions: 1) Why Iraq? Now?
      2) Why body guard? (Presumably met at airport of US base)
      3) Were there any stops going/coming that required a body guard?

      4/4 Tuesday Drone observed
      4/4 Tuesday Sarin gas bombing from a monitored base known to have been used with Russian planes and personnel
      4/4 Tuesday Drone leaves, then returns 5 hours later, followed by conventional bombing of the very hospital that is treating the victims (captured on video)

      Questions: 1) Who operated the drone?
      2) Was Sarin ordered/provided by Russia?
      3) Did Russia perform strike without Assad’s knowledge?
      4) Was the secondary bombing cover up for Sarin?
      5) Was the agreement/authorization/collusion personally delivered by Kushner?

      4/5 Wednesday Bannon removed from NSC (retaliation talks, Bannon could not get on board with)
      4/6 Thursday Russia notified we are about to breach Syrian airspace (don’t activate your middle defense systems, it won’t hurt)
      4/6 Thursday Trump launches 60 Tomohawk missles (one failed)
      4/6 Thursday Trump, over desert (chocolate cake) tells Xi, by the way we just fired missles on Iraq no I mean Syria

      Questions: 1) Target of airfield and it’s supporting assets, understandable. Why wasn’t a B2 deployed to render the runways worthless?
      2) Where are the pictures of the destroyed aircraft/buildings?
      3) How many aircraft were destroyed? (20?, 20%, 20% of this location?)

      4/7 Friday Five versions trying to find the truth (from the executive branch)

  62. Raymond Alberts on April 9, 2017 at 5:06 pm

    Face it trump being played like a drum. He more concerned about how he looks, so now I look tough on Russian. Yea but with him morrow he with be tough on looks goods good for him. Imagine if putin does have any thing on trump he played him, and all jackasses on bandwagon. God help us

  63. MJ Olson on April 10, 2017 at 8:15 pm

    Food for thought:

    ONE B-52 has the capacity to drop nearly double (150% at 80-90K lb payload) the total tonnage of all those Tomahawks (1K lb each). ONE B2 Stealth has 80% of that capacity and is almost impossible to shoot down. A B2 is awesome, it’s capacity is at 40K lb, including 2K giants of common ordinance; or bunker busters, like 8 5K or or two 30K monsters). Regardless EITHER could have done more at a fraction of the cost, and their ordinance can be smart (guided).

  64. Walter.Frederick on April 11, 2017 at 12:58 am

    Many Americans who have glanced at a history book some time in their lives should be able to connect these dots. Putin murdered those Syrians to provide cover for Trump.
    This country is in crisis.

    • Galen12 on April 12, 2017 at 2:31 pm

      Just now, I glanced at the TV to see the headline: TRUMP: “TIES WITH RUSSIA MAY BE AT AN ALL-TIME LOW.” Considering all that has been going on, it seemed just a bit too coincidental. I wondered if anyone else suspected a Syrian setup, googled it and landed on your site. I do believe the two of them planned both the chemical attack and Trump’s wimpy response. Now, they’re congratulating themselves for convincing the world that not only did they have no past ties, they are actually adversaries. A bonus is this farce improved Trump’s pathetic job approval polls. It’s hard to believe that Congress can’t see through this sham.

  65. Christine Nelson on April 12, 2017 at 9:45 am

    I do believe that Putin built the dog so Trump could wag it. I don’t know how compliant the military is… They would just go along with this?

  66. stu_p_id on April 12, 2017 at 1:46 pm

    Ha, I thought to myself, nonsense. Surely this can’t all be true. It’s just more spouting form the tin-hat brigade.

    Now I know you’re all wrong because today, the completely unbiased Mr Tillerson – a man without a single conflict of interest (and “The Russian Order of Friendship” no less) had a two hour meeting behind closed doors with Mr Putin.

    You fools, don’t you know nothing. Rex could have absolutely nothing to gain from the shenanigans you so unpatritically suggest.

    LOL(Nervous) – Once pigeons were used to carry secret messages now it’s billionaire oil executives.

  67. Samy on April 12, 2017 at 6:09 pm

    I put nothing past trump, who was known for calling reporters “disguised” and telling them about trump’s sexual prowess etc – his paid clappers, making a cheap Jerry Springer show out of the pres debates and the recent escalation in distraction tactics by the very, very guilty and desperate trump & co re the russia-campaign connection investigation. They’ve gone to the next level again and again. Orchestration, theater, one act after another. Stunt upon stunt. From the beginning I doubted trump’s alleged empathy for the dead and wounded Syrians. He’s seen plenty of pics and footage over the years of this and was unmoved – leaving Syria to Assad. Odd. (His daughter is also a narcissist who cares nothing for anyone but herself and her own children and kin.) Odd. Tillerson never speaks or tolerates a full press corps, yet regarding this issue he hasn’t shut up for the past 3 days. Odd. Trump’s son said something to the effect that this “proves” trump isn’t putin’s puppet. Odd. Odd that such would be foremost on his mind. This whole thing smells.

    • Samy on April 12, 2017 at 6:17 pm

      I should add it’s also fishy that congress wasn’t consulted on the response –

  68. Someone on April 13, 2017 at 9:49 am

    I have my suspicions that the Syrian attack was a plan to make people forget Trumps collusion with Russia, but not for the reaons you gave.
    For me my suspicious were first raised when Trump decided to needlessly announce that he felt Russian/American relations were possibly at an all-time low. This is a serious failure of politics and of his presidency and not something a president would want to reveal, yet he almost appeared to be bragging about it. He hadn’t even been pressed on the issue, he just gave it up freely.
    Then it turns out that the airfield, control centre and radar houses wern’t actually damaged at all during the attack, only the bunkers and storage buildings were hit. It was obviously meant to be more of a warning shot but, not taking out the actual airfield seems a little odd.
    Clearly there was quite a bit of communication between the americans and russians before this attack – which is a good thing since you don’t want to start a war between them – but it all feels very neat in terms of the resulting benefits to the Trump administration and the minimal damage caused to Syrian regime.
    I think at worst the chemical attack happened as claimed and then Trump and Putin perhaps saw an opportunity to use it to get the media off allegations of russian/american collusion and took it.

    All conjucture of course without evidence.

Leave a Comment